About My Working Holiday in Australia


For a conversation group, I try to describe my Australia Working Holiday stories in English, first time.

1.Gap Year

gap year is time out to travel between life stages. It is also known as a sabbaticaltime offtime out and a year out, referring to a period of time (not necessarily 12 months) in which people disengage from curricular education and/or work and undertake activities such as traveling, volunteering or working abroad.

In the field of college applications, a gap-year is a year taken between high school and college. During this gap-year, students engage in extra-academic and non-academic courses, language studies, volunteer work, travel, internships, sports and more, all for the purpose of improving themselves and their resumes before going to college. These academic gap-years are also called Pathways, Prep-Year and Bridge-Year.

– from Wiki

After I decided to apply the Working Holiday Maker Visa, I knew the term. But I thought it might be different in Taiwan – there were always pressures to stop us. I was lucky, my parents accepted my decision at that time.

Then I quit.

I couldn’t make coding jobs anymore. I just wanted a break, to stop and think what I should do in the future.

Go away. Forget who I am, open my eyes to see what the world is.

2.Work & Trips

First 3 months, I was seeking jobs in Perth, the capital of West Australia. But no stable jobs. Then working in a farm in the next 3 months. Final 3 months, traveling around the whole Australia: Perth, Darwin, Alice Springs, Adelaide, Melbourne, Sydney…an itinerary with 15,000 km totally. It was not a circle, just like a reverse S-type. Except for Queensland state (Where the “Great Barrier Reef" belongs), because my budget was almost burned out finally. But the final itinerary was still funny and full of memories.

What is the most important thing for seeking jobs in Australia? I have two answers: English and luck. I was lucky to get a farm job from my new friends in Australia. But English…if you google “澳洲打工 英文", you could find my old article – it seems I am the most famous backpacker of bad English…

Bad example. So, not afraid to speak English, be brave to show yourself, I think you could learn more and get more working chances.

3.Find yourself

“After the Grand Tour, what do you learn from it?" An company CEO asked me the question in an interview, when I started to seeking jobs in Taiwan After I came back. I didn’t have a complete answer at that time. And, I knew it might not be a Grand Tour.

But I think I get one answer currently – I find myself.

That is my first meaning of itinerary.

I could start coding again – although I know I am not the best, but I could do something creative, and enjoy the sense of achievement.

Life is sometimes boring, but you could still find out a beautiful corner, wherever it would be.

Conclusion

What color is your life? It looks the same grey, in our busy city…

The meaning of life, is to give life meaning" from a Katherine Backpackers.

All of us need to take our color back.

About David Yang

David Yang, like sports, nature, reading, music and...traveling. I am not good at sports, but like watching basketball, baseball and tennis games. I am not very strong, but like hiking, bushwalking and riding bicycle into the nature...Although I am a software engineer. Not only continue to read and gain knowledge, I also want to walk around every corner of the world. Here are some stories about my itineraries: https://dflucifer.wordpress.com/ I come from Taiwan...no matter where you meet me, either I am traveling, or just preparing for next trip :-)
This entry was posted in 澳洲打工度假 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

發表迴響

